What is it about?

The University of Melbourne runs the annual Code Masters competition. This is an open coding contest for high school students from across Australia and is held both on-campus and online.

Who can participate?

Teachers are invited to enter teams of three in either the junior division (years 7–9) or senior division (years 10–12).

On-campus Event

A maximum of two teams per school can participate in the on-campus event. Space at the university is limited to the first 30 teams that register.

Junior students should be accompanied by a teacher, while senior students should have permission from their school, but can participate unaccompanied.

2016 schedule

Time Activity
9.00am Registration & Welcome
9.30am – 12.00pm Competition
12.00 – 12.45pm Lunch (provided)
12.45 – 1.30pm Lecture on solutions to the tasks
1.30pm Awards ceremony

Online Event

For schools who are unable to participate on-campus, or who wish to enter more than two teams, online participation requires a supervisor with a standard web browser and internet access. Supervision is essential for online participation to ensure the competition rules are followed. Online participants will be able to view the recorded ‘Solutions’ lecture online after the event.

Schools participating from interstate are requested to participate according to the table below to allow for time differences. All times are local time.

State Commence Complete
ACT, NSW, TAS & VIC 9.30am 12.00pm
NT 9.30am 12.00pm
QLD 10.00am 12.30pm
SA 10.30am 1.00pm
WA 8.00am 10.30am

Rules of the competition

Each team is expected to provide their own computing device on which to program. Any operating system and any programming languages are allowed. Power points will be made available for devices.

No internet access or mobile phone usage is allowed during the competition. For online participants, only the supervising teacher should have internet access, not the students. Books and reference materials are allowed, including reference material stored on computing devices such as language manuals and study notes. Pre-obtained and stored solutions to the myriad of programming challenges on the internet are not allowed.

Specific competition details including instructions for online participation will be made available to registered teams before the competition.

The winning team will be the one with the most correct answers within the 2.5 hour time limit.

2016 winning teams

In 2016 there were a total of 36 teams from 22 schools who competed both on campus and online. Congratulations to the winning teams!

Junior Division (Online)

Place Team Team members School
First Place One Box Hill

Michael Zhao

Bernhard Andersson

Box Hill High School (VIC)
Second Place Blue Screen of Death

Jonathan Chew

Ben Davison –Petch

Marcus Handley

Christ Church Grammar School (WA)
Third Place Panthers (the black predators)

Julian Kam

David Lind

William Thomas

Christ Church Grammar School (WA)
The Codesperts

Harris Borman

Djimon Jayasundera

Josh Green

Christ Church Grammar School (WA)
Team 3

Eleanor Eyers

Veronique Villis

Ashiqa Walia

Melbourne Girls’ College (VIC)

Senior Division (On campus)

Place Team Team members School
First Place Spinning beach ball of death

Anton Sidorov

Jarrod Tyzack

Viewbank College (VIC)

Brad Goodall-Sullivan

John Roberts

Gavin Douch

Wanganui Park Secondary College (VIC)
Third Place Dejana

Natalie Sholakis

Declan Maybury

Jace Denny

Luther College (VIC)

Senior Division (Online)

Place Team Team members School
First Place MFC

Felix Freidlander

Matthew Michael

Christopher Wiltshire

Woodleigh School (VIC)
#define true false

Ben Anderson

Jason Chu

Hector Morlet

Christ Church Grammar School (WA)
Second Place Os (‘sudo sandwich’)

William Hu

Amitabh Jeganathan

Albert Smith

Christ Church Grammar School (WA)
Green and Gold Pythons

Anand Bharadwaj

Nathan Savundra Shepherd

Hadyn Tang

Trinity Grammar School (VIC)
Third Place Why so mat

Lumina Gajanakaye

Alexander Shearer

Jun Han Yap

Christ Church Grammar School (WA)

Congratulations once again to the above winning teams, well done! 

Meanwhile, we would also like to thank the other teams for participating in the competition. Schools that participated this year are as follows,

  • Wanganui Park Secondary College (VIC)
  • Viewbank College (VIC)
  • Luther College (VIC)
  • Norwood Secondary College (VIC)
  • Glen Eira College (VIC)
  • Trinity College Foundation Studies (VIC)
  • Kyabram P-12 College (VIC)
  • Irymple Secondary College (VIC)
  • Lara Secondary College (VIC)
  • Sunshine College, North Campus (VIC)
  • Trinity Grammar School (VIC)
  • Cobram Anglican Grammar School (VIC)
  • All Hallows’ School (QLD)
  • Christ Church Grammar School (WA)
  • St Peters College (SA)
  • Centenary Heights State High School (QLD)
  • Brisbane Girls Grammar School (QLD)
  • Box Hill High School (VIC)
  • Woodleigh School (VIC)
  • Queenwood School (NSW)
  • Perth Modern School (WA)
  • Melbourne Girl’s College (VIC)

Problems and solutions

Code Masters website: 2016 problems and data

Contact us

Recruitment Coordinator