Staff directory

Office of the Dean

Person Position Phone Email Location
Professor Iven Mareels Dean, Melbourne School of Engineering 834 46619 i.mareels@unimelb.edu.au Old Eng G16A
Professor Peter Scales Deputy Dean 834 46480 peterjs@unimelb.edu.au Old Eng G21
Professor Jamie Evans Deputy Dean (Academic) 834 41571 jse@unimelb.edu.au Old Eng G05
Leanne Taylor School Executive Director 903 54159 l.taylor@unimelb.edu.au Old Eng G17A
Velga Lapins Executive Assistant to the Dean 834 46619 velgal@unimelb.edu.au Old Eng G16
Kerry Beachen Executive Assistant and Project Coordinator to Deputy Dean & School Executive Director 834 40358 kbeachen@unimelb.edu.au Old Eng G17
Michael Wells Program Director MSE 2025 0418 316 606 michael.wells@wellsadvisory.com.au EEE, Lvl 4
Dr Anne Hellstedt Project Director, Infrastructure MSE 2025 834 42866 annekh@unimelb.edu.au EEE, Lvl 4
Joshua Rodgers Program Manager MSE 2025 834 48254 joshua.rodgers@unimelb.edu.au EEE, Lvl 4
Troy Hunter Communications Advisor MSE 2025 834 48788 troy.hunter@unimelb.edu.au EEE, Lvl 4
Jia-Yee Lee Director, Academic-Government Liaison MSE 2025 8344 4923 jia-yee.lee@unimelb.edu.au EEE, Lvl 4

Associate Deans

Person Position Phone Email Location
Prof Andrew Ooi Associate Dean (Academic) 834 46732 a.ooi@unimelb.edu.au Mech Eng
Prof Doreen Thomas Associate Dean (Research) 834 46663 dathomas@unimelb.edu.au Mech Eng
Prof Rob Evans Associate Dean (Human Resources) 834 40309 robinje@unimelb.edu.au EEE
Prof Abbas Rajabifard Associate Dean (International) 834 40234 abbas.r@unimelb.edu.au Eng Block B, 403A
Prof Sandra Kentish Associate Dean (Engagement) 834 46682 sandraek@unimelb.edu.au Bldg 165, 3.31
Prof Justin Zobel Associate Dean (IT & Infrastructure) 834 41282 jzobel@unimelb.edu.au Doug McDonell Bldg (168)

Assistant Deans and Directors

Person Position Phone Email Location
Prof David Shallcross Director of the Engineering Learning Unit 834 46614 dcshal@unimelb.edu.au Building 165, 3.27
Prof Stephan Matthai Assistant Dean, Commercialisation 834 46084 stephan.matthai@unimelb.edu.au Infrastructure Eng
Prof Greg Qiao Assistant Dean, Research 834 48665 gregghq@unimelb.edu.au Chem Eng
Prof Chris Manzie Assistant Dean, Research Training 834 46731 manziec@unimelb.edu.au Mech Eng
Assoc Prof Shanton Chang Assistant Dean, International 834 41583 shanton.chang@unimelb.edu.au CIS
Assoc Prof Ying Tan Assistant Dean, International Exchange 834 43830 yingt@unimelb.edu.au EEE
Assoc Prof Graham Moore Assistant Dean Academic Operations 834 46808 grahamam@unimelb.edu.au Infrastructure Eng
Dr Gavin Buskes Assistant Dean e-Learning 834 44685 g.buskes@unimelb.edu.au EEE
Dr Reihana Mohideen Assistant Dean, Equity and Diversity 834 47629 r.mohideen@unimelb.edu.au EEE
Assoc Prof Allison Kealy Assistant Dean, Infrastructure 834 46804 a.kealy@unimelb.edu.au Infrastructure Eng
Dr Denny Oetomo Assistant Dean, Communications 834 46795 doetomo@unimelb.edu.au Mechanical Eng
Dr Colin Burvill Assistant Dean, Student Industry Engagement 8344 4545 colb@unimelb.edu.au Mechanical Eng

Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering

Person Position Phone Email Location
Prof Sandra Kentish Head of Department 834 46682 sandraek@unimelb.edu.au Bldg 165, 3.31
Assoc Prof Andrea O’Connor Deputy Head (Administration & Engagement) 834 48962 andreajo@unimelb.edu.au Bldg 165, 3.26
Dr Dalton Harvie Deputy Head of Department (Teaching) 834 46421 daltonh@unimelb.edu.au Bldg 165, 3.09
Prof Greg Qiao Deputy Head (Research) 834 48665 gregghq@unimelb.edu.au Bldg 165, 3.21
Louise Baker Department Administration 834 40121 lbak@unimelb.edu.au Bldg 165, 3.28

View full staff directory for Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering

Computing and Information Systems

Person Position Phone Email Location
Prof Justin Zobel Head of Department 834 41282 jzobel@unimelb.edu.au Doug McDonell Bldg (168)
Assoc Prof Andrew Turpin (Engagement) Deputy Head of Department 834 41312 aturpin@unimelb.edu.au Doug McDonell Bldg (168)
Assoc Prof Karin Verspoor (Operations) Deputy Head of Department 834 44902 karin.verspoor@unimelb.edu.au Doug McDonell Bldg (168)
Rhonda Smithies Department Administration 834 41505 cis-deptadmin@unimelb.edu.au Doug McDonell Bldg (168)
Julie Ireland Department Administration 903 54422 cis-deptadmin@unimelb.edu.au Doug McDonell Bldg (168)

View full staff directory for Computing and Information Systems

Electrical and Electronic Engineering

Person Position Phone Email Location
Prof Robin Evans Head of Department 834 40309 robinje@unimelb.edu.au Bldg 193
Prof David Grayden Deputy Head of Department, Academic Programs 903 53796 grayden@unimelb.edu.au Bldg 193, L2
Prof Dragan Nesic Deputy Head of Department, Research & Industry Engagement 834 45357 dnesic@unimelb.edu.au Bldg 193, L4
Fiorella Chiodo Department Administration 834 46713 fmchiodo@unimelb.edu.au Bldg 193, L4
Lyn Buchanan Department Administration 903 54264 lynb@unimelb.edu.au Bldg 193, L4

View full staff directory for Electrical & Electronic Engineering

Infrastructure Engineering

Person Position Phone Email Location
Prof Abbas Rajabifard Head of Department 834 40234 abbas.r@unimelb.edu.au Engineering Block B, 403A
Prof Andrew Western Deputy Head of Department 834 47305 a.western@unimelb.edu.au Civ Env Eng
Assoc Prof Colin Duffield Discipline Leader: Civil Engineering 834 46787 colinfd@unimelb.edu.au Civ Env Eng
Assoc Prof Michael Stewardson Discipline Leader: Environmental Hydrology and Water Resources 834 47750 mjste@unimelb.edu.au Civ Env Eng
Prof Stephan Winter Discipline Leader: Geomatics 834 47875 winter@unimelb.edu.au Geomatics
Eileen Doufas-Shea Department Administration 834 49854 eshea@unimelb.edu.au Bldg 176, 406
Pauline Woolcock Department Administration 834 44431 pawo@unimelb.edu.au Bldg 174, C412

View full staff directory for Infrastructure Engineering

Mechanical Engineering

Person Position Phone Email Location
Prof Doreen Thomas Head of Department 834 46663 doreen.thomas@unimelb.edu.au Bldg 170, 406
Assoc Prof Jason Monty Deputy Head of Department (Academic) 834 43040 montyjp@unimelb.edu.au Bldg 170
Prof Ivan Marusic Deputy Head of Department (Research) 834 46872 imarusic@unimelb.edu.au Bldg 170
Assoc Prof Denny Oetomo Deputy Head of Department (Engagement) 834 46795 doetomo@unimelb.edu.au Bldg 170
Jan May Department Administration 834 46734 j.may@unimelb.edu.au Bldg 170, 404

View full staff directory for Mechanical Engineering

Managers

Person Position Phone Email Location
Sarah MacPherson Manager, Finance and Planning 834 49043 sarahlm@unimelb.edu.au Old Eng G07
Sophie Allan Manager, Human Resources 834 47971 sophie.allan@unimelb.edu.au Old Eng G20
Joanne Kuluveovski Manager, Research Industry & Commercialisation 834 45171 jkulu@unimelb.edu.au Old Eng G23
Graham Sadler Manager, Information Technology 834 40750 gsadler@unimelb.edu.au Bldg 168, 4.12
Michelle Mackay Manager, Facilities and OHS 834 43443 mrmackay@unimelb.edu.au Bldg 169, 102
Juliette Kringas Manager, Marketing and Communications 834 43800 juliette.kringas@unimelb.edu.au Old Eng G37
Kylie Laughlin Manager, Academic Support Office 834 45474 laughlin@unimelb.edu.au Old Eng G45

Academic Support

Person Position Phone Email Location
Kylie Laughlin Manager, Academic Support Office (Mon–Thurs) 834 45474 laughlin@unimelb.edu.au Old Eng G45
Lisa Hayes Manager, Academic Programs 834 46617 l.hayes@unimelb.edu.au Old Eng G40
Carolyn Barrie Academic Support Coordinator (Mech Eng) 834 46748 carolyn.barrie@unimelb.edu.au Block E, L4
Madalain Dolic Academic Support Coordinator (CIS) 834 41300 madalain@unimelb.edu.au Doug McDonell, L8
Sharon Kuria Senior Academic Support Coordinator (Chem Eng) 834 41486 sharon.kuria@unimelb.edu.au Chem Eng, L3
Eloise Gleeson Academic Support Coordinator (CIS) 834 42632 e.gleeson@unimelb.edu.au Doug McDonell, L8
Hai Do Academic Support Coordinator (IE) 903 54617 haid@unimelb.edu.au Block C, L4
Claire Grist Academic Support Coordinator (IE) 834 40187 claire.grist@unimelb.edu.au Block C, L4
Sofia Monkiewicz Academic Support Coordinator (EE) 834 44875 sofia.monkiewicz@unimelb.edu.au Bldg 193, L4
Michelle Bellino Manager, Student Enrichment (Tues–Fri) 834 47837 michelle.bellino@unimelb.edu.au Old Eng G42
Jane Martin Student Support Officer 834 49578 martin@unimelb.edu.au Old Eng G42
Sarah Zappia Scholarships & Prizes Officer 903 57608 szappia@unimelb.edu.au Old Eng G42
Louisa Tobin Industry Placement Coordinator 834 47660 tobinl@unimelb.edu.au Old Eng
Hope Perkins Indigenous Engagement Coordinator (Tues-Fri) 834 43208 hope.perkins@unimelb.edu.au Bldg 193, 402
Beth Hunter Global Mobility Coordinator 834 44416 elisabeth.hunter@unimelb.edu.au Old Eng G42
Jacqui Sbragia Manager, Graduate Research (Mon, Tues, Thurs & Fri) 834 45002 jsbragia@unimelb.edu.au Old Eng G47
Sally Tape Graduate Research Coordinator 834 43655 stape@unimelb.edu.au Old Eng G47
Kate Hale Graduate Research Officer 800 12530 kathryn.hale@unimelb.edu.au Old Eng G47
Danielle Roller Future Students Manager 834 40006 droller@unimelb.edu.au Old Eng G47
Mim Cahir Recruitment Manager International 903 53126 miriam.cahir@unimelb.edu.au Old Eng G39
Tamara Djurovic Recruitment Coordinator International 834 47149 tamarad@unimelb.edu.au Old Eng G39
Jacqui Hoare Recruitment Manager Domestic 834 41922 j.hoare@unimelb.edu.au Old Eng G39A
Shainie Holt Recruitment Coordinator Domestic 834 45613 shainie.holt@unimelb.edu.au Old Eng G39A
Connie Gravier Admissions Manager 903 54236 cgravier@unimelb.edu.au Old Eng G39
Natalie Thompson Coursework Admissions Officer 834 40605 natalie.thompson@unimelb.edu.au Old Eng G39
Themi Kritikakos Enquiries and Admissions Coordinator 834 41214 krit@unimelb.edu.au Old Eng G39
Amy Shiung Graduate Research Admissions Coordinator 834 40186 ashiung@unimelb.edu.au Old Eng G39
Minnie Atkinson Admissions Assistant 903 57435 minjaara.atkinson@unimelb.edu.au Old Eng G39

Advancement

Person Position Phone Email Location
Cherie Dawn Corporate Development Manager 834 41721 cherie.dawn@unimelb.edu.au Old Eng 106
Elise Everest Alumni Relations Manager (Mon, Wed and Thurs) 903 53460 everest@unimelb.edu.au Old Eng 106
Sian Gooden Alumni and Donor Engagement Manager 834 49250 sian.gooden@unimelb.edu.au Old Eng 106
Tanya Wilding Alumni and Donor Engagement Manager 834 49864 twilding@unimelb.edu.au Old Eng 106
Wendy Wen Wen Zhao Advancement Officer 903 59704 wwwzhao@unimelb.edu.au Old Eng 106

Engineering Learning Unit

Person Position Phone Email Location
Prof Andrew Ooi Associate Dean (Academic) 834 46732 a.ooi@unimelb.edu.au  
Prof David Shallcross Director, Engineering Learning Unit 834 46614 dcshal@unimelb.edu.au Bldg 165, 3.27
Dr Gavin Buskes Education Specialist (Electrical and Electronic) 834 44685 buskesgj@unimelb.edu.au  
Dr Antonette Mendoza Education Specialist (Computer Information Systems) 834 41411 mendozaa@unimelb.edu.au  
Dr Graham Moore Education Specialist (Infrastructure) 834 46808 grahamam@unimelb.edu.au  
Mr Cliff Ogleby Education Specialist (Infrastructure) 834 46754 clogleby@unimelb.edu.au  
Dr Kaya Prpic Academic Development Advisor 834 43391 kaya.prpic@unimelb.edu.au  
Mr Brice Shen Program Manager 834 48593 bshen@unimelb.edu.au  
Dr Linda Stern Education Specialist (Computer Information Systems) 834 41362 stern@unimelb.edu.au  
Dr Sue Wright Academic Development Advisor (Architecture, Building and Planning) 903 53809 smwright@unimelb.edu.au  

Visit the Engineering Learning Unit website

Facilities and OH&S

Person Position Phone Email Location
Michelle Mackay Manager, Facilities & OH&S 834 43443 mrmackay@unimelb.edu.au Bldg 169, Rm 102
Steve Adams Senior Laboratory Technical Officer (Wet Labs) 834 46227 scadams@unimelb.edu.au Bldg 176, Rm 159
Oktay Balkis Senior Fabrication Technical Officer 834 44515 oktay@unimelb.edu.au Bldg 169, Workshop
Steve Beard Infrastructure & OHS Manager 834 46712 sbeard@unimelb.edu.au Bldg 169, Rm 101
Dr David Chan Laboratory Manager (Design Studio) 834 43361 kaic@unimelb.edu.au Bldg 176, Rm 159
Shane Clee Lab Tech Officer (Wet Lab-Eng Precinct) 834 46665 sclee@unimelb.edu.au Bldg 176, Rm 159
Geoff Duke Research Laboratory Technical Officer 834 43041 gduke@unimelb.edu.au Bldg 176, Rm 152
Joe Eden Laboratory Technical Officer (Design Studio) 903 58076 edenj@unimelb.edu.au Bldg 173, Rm G50
George Fox Laboratory Technical Officer (Field Equipment) 834 47176 geo.fox@unimelb.edu.au Bldg 176, Rm G11
Justin Fox Technical Officer (Fabrication Facility) 834 46745 justinpf@unimelb.edu.au Bldg 169, Workshop
Becca McQuillan Laboratory Technical Officer (Coursework Wet Labs) 903 57843 rebecca.mcquillan@unimelb.edu.au Bldg 176, Rm 159
Michael Jing Laboratory Technical Officer (Design/Build Studio) 903 58076 michaelj@unimelb.edu.au Bldg 173, Rm 206
Vacant OHS Coordinator     Bldg 169, Rm 104
Kevin Smeaton Fabrication Facility Manager 834 46634 kevinjs@unimelb.edu.au Bldg 169, Workshop
Darcy Johnson Facilities & OHS Officer (Mon & Tue) 834 44226 darcy.johnson@unimelb.edu.au Bldg 169, Rm 105
Rachel Xu Facilities & OHS Officer (Wed–Fri) 834 44226 xinke.xu@unimelb.edu.au Bldg 169, Rm 105
David Watson Senior Laboratory Technical Officer (Design Studio) 903 58076 dwatson@unimelb.edu.au Bldg 173, Rm 206

Finance

Person Position Phone Email Location
Sarah MacPherson Manager, Finance and Planning 834 46791 sarahlm@unimelb.edu.au Old Eng G07
Kumar Dave Senior Management Accountant 834 47080 kdave@unimelb.edu.au Old Eng G26
Quynh Bui Management Accountant 834 46677 qbui@unimelb.edu.au Old Eng G26
Sheetal Kapoor Senior Management Accountant 834 46633 kapoors@unimelb.edu.au Old Eng G22
Meg Belmonte Management Accountant 834 46790 marymeg@unimelb.edu.au Old Eng G22
Irene Hou Management Accountant 834 46628 ihou@unimelb.edu.au Old Eng G26
Marissa Canizares Management Accountant 903 55085 mnca@unimelb.edu.au Old Eng G26
Dana Peng Assistant Accountant 903 59902 dan.peng@unimelb.edu.au Old Eng G26
Limto Limto Manager, Business Analysis 834 43916 llimto@unimelb.edu.au Old Eng G09
Sunil Sharma Project Analyst 834 43650 s.sharma@unimelb.edu.au Old Eng G02
Rosemarie Broadhurst Assistant Accountant 903 54649 r.broadhurst@unimelb.edu.au Old Eng G26

Human Resources

Person Position Phone Email Location
Sophie Allan Manager, Human Resources 834 47971 sophie.allan@unimelb.edu.au Old Eng G04
Anshu Tara HR Business Partner 903 54723 atara@unimelb.edu.au Old Eng G03
Carolyn Hannaford HR Advisor 903 53072 carolyn.hannaford@unimelb.edu.au Old Eng G03
Tenille Harris HR Administrator 834 45634 mse-hr@unimelb.edu.au
tenille.harris@unimelb.edu.au
 
Kirstin Miles HR Business Partner 834 42148 kirstin.miles@unimelb.edu.au Old Eng G03
Madhavi Ramful HR Administrator 834 47583 mse-hr@unimelb.edu.au
m.ramful@unimelb.edu.au
 
Bill Scarff Adminstrative Resources Assistant   wgs@unimelb.edu.au Old Eng G03

IT Services

Person Position Phone Email Location
Graham Sadler Manager, Information Technology 834 40750 gsadler@unimelb.edu.au Bldg 168, 4.12
Richard Todd Manager, IT Systems & Infrastructure 834 44307 r.todd@unimelb.edu.au Bldg 168, 4.10
George Fedorov Senior Systems Specialist 903 56016 gfedorov@unimelb.edu.au Bldg 168, 4.15
Lucas Barbuto Senior Systems Specialist 834 41270 lucasjb@unimelb.edu.au Bldg 168, 4.15
Ruzhang (Mason) Weng Senior Systems Specialist 834 47571 mason.weng@unimelb.edu.au Bldg 168, 4.15
Nivin Mathew Systems Specialist 834 49218 nmathew@unimelb.edu.au Bldg 168, 4.15
Sook Ye Teoh Systems Specialist 834 47421 sook.teoh@unimelb.edu.au Bldg 168, 4.15
Negin Mansoury IT Operations Manager 834 48792 neginm@unimelb.edu.au Bldg 168, 4.11
Ryan Colaco Senior IT Officer 834 44554 rcolaco@unimelb.edu.au Bldg 168, 4.16
Thomas Weichert Senior IT Officer 834 41473 weichert@unimelb.edu.au Bldg 168, 4.16
Vinita Murugiah Software Developer 834 41272 vinita@unimelb.edu.au Bldg 168, 4.13
David Nguyen Software Developer 834 41475 nguyen@unimelb.edu.au Bldg 168, 4.13

Marketing and Communications

Person Position Phone Email Location
Juliette Kringas Manager, Marketing and Communications 834 43800 juliette.kringas@unimelb.edu.au Old Eng G37
Tony Zara Online Communications Manager 834 43777 tonyz@unimelb.edu.au Old Eng G37
Sam Davison Marketing and Events Coordinator 834 47597 sdavison@unimelb.edu.au Old Eng G37
Jenny Thomas Marketing and Communications Coordinator 834 44092 jennifer.thomas@unimelb.edu.au Old Eng G40
Nicole Jones Web Support Officer (Tues, Thurs) 903 59703 nejones@unimelb.edu.au Old Eng G37
Theoni Sklavos Marketing and Events Officer 903 54085 tsklavos@unimelb.edu.au Old Eng G37
Greta Harrison Marketing and Communications Officer 903 53252 gretah@unimelb.edu.au Old Eng G40

Research Services

Person Position Phone Email Location
Joanne Kuluveovski Manager, Research Industry 834 45171 jkulu@unimelb.edu.au Old Eng G23
Jill StJohn Research Development Manager 834 47948 jill.stjohn@unimelb.edu.au Old Eng Rm G20
Ash Ravikumar Commercialisation Services Manager (Research) 834 41292 ashwin.ravikumar@unimelb.edu.au Old Eng G22
Lyle Daymond Senior Research Services Officer 834 47697 l.daymond@unimelb.edu.au Old Eng G26
Melanie Willingham Research Services Officer 903 56694 wimm@unimelb.edu.au Old Eng G26
Melissa Glenister Research Services Officer 903 59618 melissa.glenister@unimelb.edu.au Old Eng G26
Jessica Finlay Research Services Officer 834 45962 jessica.finlay@unimelb.edu.au Old Eng G26
Kathryn Lindsay University Librarian 903 59659 kathryn.lindsay@unimelb.edu.au Old Eng G05

Useful websites for staff