Staff directory

Office of the Dean

Person Position Phone Email Location
Professor Iven Mareels Dean, Melbourne School of Engineering 8344 6619 i.mareels@unimelb.edu.au Old Eng G16A
Professor Peter Scales Deputy Dean 8344 6480 peterjs@unimelb.edu.au Old Eng G21
Professor Jamie Evans Deputy Dean (Academic) 8344 1571 jse@unimelb.edu.au Old Eng G05
Leanne Taylor School Executive Director 9035 4159 l.taylor@unimelb.edu.au Old Eng G17A
Velga Lapins Executive Assistant to the Dean 8344 6619 velgal@unimelb.edu.au Old Eng G16
Kerry Beachen Executive Assistant and Project Coordinator to Deputy Dean & School Executive Director 8344 0358 kbeachen@unimelb.edu.au Old Eng G17
Michael Wells Program Director MSE 2025 0418 316 606 michael.wells@wellsadvisory.com.au EEE, Lvl 4
Dr Anne Hellstedt Project Director, Infrastructure MSE 2025 8344 2866 annekh@unimelb.edu.au EEE, Lvl 4
Joshua Rodgers Program Manager MSE 2025 8344 8254 joshua.rodgers@unimelb.edu.au EEE, Lvl 4
Troy Hunter Communications Advisor MSE 2025 8344 8788 troy.hunter@unimelb.edu.au EEE, Lvl 4
Jia-Yee Lee Director, Academic-Government Liaison MSE 2025 8344 4923 jia-yee.lee@unimelb.edu.au EEE, Lvl 4

Associate Deans

Person Position Phone Email Location
Prof Andrew Ooi Associate Dean (Academic) 8344 6732 a.ooi@unimelb.edu.au Mech Eng
Prof Doreen Thomas Associate Dean (Research) 8344 6663 dathomas@unimelb.edu.au Mech Eng
Prof Rob Evans Associate Dean (Human Resources) 8344 0309 robinje@unimelb.edu.au EEE
Prof Abbas Rajabifard Associate Dean (International) 8344 0234 abbas.r@unimelb.edu.au Eng Block B, 403A
Prof Sandra Kentish Associate Dean (Engagement) 8344 6682 sandraek@unimelb.edu.au Bldg 165, 3.31
Prof Justin Zobel Associate Dean (IT & Infrastructure) 8344 1282 jzobel@unimelb.edu.au Doug McDonell Bldg (168)

Assistant Deans and Directors

Person Position Phone Email Location
Prof David Shallcross Director of the Engineering Learning Unit 8344  6614 dcshal@unimelb.edu.au Building 165, 3.27
Prof Stephan Matthai Assistant Dean, Commercialisation 8344 6084 stephan.matthai@unimelb.edu.au Infrastructure Eng
Prof Greg Qiao Assistant Dean, Research 8344 8665 gregghq@unimelb.edu.au Chem Eng
Prof Chris Manzie Assistant Dean, Research Training 8344 6731 manziec@unimelb.edu.au Mech Eng
Assoc Prof Shanton Chang Assistant Dean, International 8344 1583 shanton.chang@unimelb.edu.au CIS
Assoc Prof Ying Tan Assistant Dean, International Exchange 8344 3830 yingt@unimelb.edu.au EEE
Assoc Prof Graham Moore Assistant Dean Academic Operations 8344 6808 grahamam@unimelb.edu.au Infrastructure Eng
Dr Gavin Buskes Assistant Dean e-Learning 8344 4685 g.buskes@unimelb.edu.au EEE
Dr Reihana Mohideen Assistant Dean, Equity and Diversity 8344 7629 r.mohideen@unimelb.edu.au EEE
Assoc Prof Allison Kealy Assistant Dean, Infrastructure 8344 6804 a.kealy@unimelb.edu.au Infrastructure Eng
Dr Denny Oetomo Assistant Dean, Communications 8344 6795 doetomo@unimelb.edu.au Mechanical Eng
Dr Colin Burvill Assistant Dean, Student Industry Engagement 8344 4545 colb@unimelb.edu.au Mechanical Eng

Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering

Person Position Phone Email Location
Prof Sandra Kentish Head of Department 8344 6682 sandraek@unimelb.edu.au Bldg 165, 3.31
Assoc Prof Andrea O’Connor Deputy Head (Administration & Engagement) 8344 8962 andreajo@unimelb.edu.au Bldg 165, 3.26
Dr Dalton Harvie Deputy Head of Department (Teaching) 8344 6421 daltonh@unimelb.edu.au Bldg 165, 3.09
Prof Greg Qiao Deputy Head (Research) 8344 8665 gregghq@unimelb.edu.au Bldg 165, 3.21
Louise Baker Department Administration 8344 0121 lbak@unimelb.edu.au Bldg 165, 3.28

View full staff directory for Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering

Computing and Information Systems

Person Position Phone Email Location
Prof Justin Zobel Head of Department 8344 1282 jzobel@unimelb.edu.au Doug McDonell Bldg (168)
Assoc Prof Andrew Turpin (Engagement) Deputy Head of Department 8344 1312 aturpin@unimelb.edu.au Doug McDonell Bldg (168)
Assoc Prof Karin Verspoor (Operations) Deputy Head of Department 8344 4902 karin.verspoor@unimelb.edu.au Doug McDonell Bldg (168)
Rhonda Smithies Department Administration 8344 1505 cis-deptadmin@unimelb.edu.au Doug McDonell Bldg (168)
Julie Ireland Department Administration 9035 4422 cis-deptadmin@unimelb.edu.au Doug McDonell Bldg (168)

View full staff directory for Computing and Information Systems

Electrical and Electronic Engineering

Person Position Phone Email Location
Prof Robin Evans Head of Department 8344 0309 robinje@unimelb.edu.au Bldg 193
Prof David Grayden Deputy Head of Department, Academic Programs 9035 3796 grayden@unimelb.edu.au Bldg 193, L2
Prof Dragan Nesic Deputy Head of Department, Research & Industry Engagement 8344 5357 dnesic@unimelb.edu.au Bldg 193, L4
Fiorella Chiodo Department Administration 8344 6713 fmchiodo@unimelb.edu.au Bldg 193, L4
Lyn Buchanan Department Administration 9035 4264 lynb@unimelb.edu.au Bldg 193, L4

View full staff directory for Electrical & Electronic Engineering

Infrastructure Engineering

Person Position Phone Email Location
Prof Abbas Rajabifard Head of Department 8344 0234 abbas.r@unimelb.edu.au Engineering Block B, 403A
Prof Andrew Western Deputy Head of Department 8344 7305 a.western@unimelb.edu.au Civ Env Eng
Assoc Prof Colin Duffield Discipline Leader: Civil Engineering 8344 6787 colinfd@unimelb.edu.au Civ Env Eng
Assoc Prof Michael Stewardson Discipline Leader: Environmental Hydrology and Water Resources 8344 7750 mjste@unimelb.edu.au Civ Env Eng
Prof Stephan Winter Discipline Leader: Geomatics 8344 7875 winter@unimelb.edu.au Geomatics
Eileen Doufas-Shea Department Administration 8344 9854 eshea@unimelb.edu.au Bldg 176, 406
Pauline Woolcock Department Administration 8344 4431 pawo@unimelb.edu.au Bldg 174, C412

View full staff directory for Infrastructure Engineering

Mechanical Engineering

Person Position Phone Email Location
Prof Doreen Thomas Head of Department 8344 6663 doreen.thomas@unimelb.edu.au Bldg 170, 406
Assoc Prof Jason Monty Deputy Head of Department (Academic) 8344 3040 montyjp@unimelb.edu.au Bldg 170
Prof Ivan Marusic Deputy Head of Department (Research) 8344 6872 imarusic@unimelb.edu.au Bldg 170
Assoc Prof Denny Oetomo Deputy Head of Department (Engagement) 8344 6795 doetomo@unimelb.edu.au Bldg 170
Jan May Department Administration 8344 6734 j.may@unimelb.edu.au Bldg 170, 404

View full staff directory for Mechanical Engineering

Managers

Person Position Phone Email Location
Sarah MacPherson Manager, Finance and Planning 8344 9043 sarahlm@unimelb.edu.au Old Eng G07
Vacant Manager, Human Resources 8344 7971 Old Eng G20
Joanne Kuluveovski Manager, Research Industry & Commercialisation 8344 5171 jkulu@unimelb.edu.au Old Eng G23
Graham Sadler Manager, Information Technology 8344 0750 gsadler@unimelb.edu.au Bldg 168, 4.12
Michelle Mackay Manager, Facilities and OHS 8344 3443 mrmackay@unimelb.edu.au Bldg 169, 102
Juliette Kringas Manager, Marketing and Communications 8344 3800 juliette.kringas@unimelb.edu.au Alice Hoy Building, Room 381
Kylie Laughlin Manager, Academic Support Office 8344 5474 laughlin@unimelb.edu.au Alice Hoy Building, Room 381

Academic Support

Person Position Phone Email Location
Kylie Laughlin Manager, Academic Support Office (Mon–Thurs) 8344 5474 laughlin@unimelb.edu.au Alice Hoy Building, Room 381
Lisa Hayes Manager, Academic Programs 8344 6617 l.hayes@unimelb.edu.au Alice Hoy Building, Room 381
Carolyn Barrie Academic Support Coordinator (Mech Eng) 8344 6748 carolyn.barrie@unimelb.edu.au Block E, L4
Madalain Dolic Academic Support Coordinator (CIS) 8344 1300 madalain@unimelb.edu.au Doug McDonell, L8
Sharon Kuria Senior Academic Support Coordinator (Chem Eng) 8344 1486 sharon.kuria@unimelb.edu.au Chem Eng, L3
Cathy Izzard Academic Support Coordinator (CIS) 9035 3441 c.izzard@unimelb.edu.au Doug McDonell, L8
Hai Do Academic Support Coordinator (IE) 9035 4617 haid@unimelb.edu.au Block C, L4
Claire Grist Academic Support Coordinator (IE) 8344 0187 claire.grist@unimelb.edu.au Block C, L4
Sofia Monkiewicz Academic Support Coordinator (EE) 8344 4875 sofia.monkiewicz@unimelb.edu.au Bldg 193, L4
Michelle Bellino Manager, Student Enrichment (Tues–Fri) 8344 7837 michelle.bellino@unimelb.edu.au Alice Hoy Building, Room 381
Jane Martin Student Support Officer 8344 9578 martin@unimelb.edu.au Alice Hoy Building, Room 381
Sarah Zappia Scholarships & Prizes Officer 9035 7608 szappia@unimelb.edu.au Alice Hoy Building, Room 381
Louisa Tobin Industry Placement Coordinator 8344 7660 tobinl@unimelb.edu.au Alice Hoy Building, Room 381
Hope Perkins Indigenous Engagement Coordinator (Tues-Fri) 8344 3208 hope.perkins@unimelb.edu.au Alice Hoy Building, Room 381
Beth Hunter Global Mobility Coordinator 8344 4416 elisabeth.hunter@unimelb.edu.au Alice Hoy Building, Room 381
Jacqui Sbragia Manager, Graduate Research (Mon, Tues, Thurs & Fri) 8344 5002 jsbragia@unimelb.edu.au Alice Hoy Building, Room 381
Sally Tape Graduate Research Coordinator 8344 3655 stape@unimelb.edu.au Alice Hoy Building, Room 381
Kate Hale Graduate Research Officer 8001 2530 kathryn.hale@unimelb.edu.au Alice Hoy Building, Room 381
Cloe Jakel Graduate Research Officer 9035 8423 cloe.jakel@unimelb.edu.au Alice Hoy Building, Room 381
Danielle Roller Future Students Manager 8344 0006 droller@unimelb.edu.au Alice Hoy Building, Room 381
Mim Cahir Recruitment Manager International 9035 3126 miriam.cahir@unimelb.edu.au Alice Hoy Building, Room 381
Alvin Webster Recruitment Coordinator Domestic     Alice Hoy Building, Room 381
Jacqui Hoare Recruitment Manager Domestic 8344 1922 j.hoare@unimelb.edu.au Alice Hoy Building, Room 381
Shainie Holt Recruitment Coordinator International 8344 5613 shainie.holt@unimelb.edu.au Alice Hoy Building, Room 381
Connie Gravier Admissions Manager 9035 4236 cgravier@unimelb.edu.au Alice Hoy Building, Room 381
Natalie Thompson Coursework Admissions Officer 8344 0605 natalie.thompson@unimelb.edu.au Alice Hoy Building, Room 381
Themi Kritikakos Enquiries and Admissions Coordinator 8344 1214 krit@unimelb.edu.au Alice Hoy Building, Room 381
Vacant Graduate Research Admissions Coordinator 8344 0186 Alice Hoy Building, Room 381
Minnie Atkinson Admissions Assistant 9035 7435 minjaara.atkinson@unimelb.edu.au Alice Hoy Building, Room 381

Advancement

Person Position Phone Email Location
Elise Everest Alumni Relations Manager (Mon, Wed and Thurs) 9035 3460 everest@unimelb.edu.au Old Eng 106
Tanya Wilding Donor Engagement Manager 8344 9864 twilding@unimelb.edu.au Old Eng 106
Wendy Wen Wen Zhao Advancement Officer 9035 9704 wwwzhao@unimelb.edu.au Old Eng 106

Engineering Learning Unit

Person Position Phone Email Location
Prof Andrew Ooi Associate Dean (Academic) 8344 6732 a.ooi@unimelb.edu.au  
Prof David Shallcross Director, Engineering Learning Unit 8344 6614 dcshal@unimelb.edu.au Bldg 165, 3.27
Dr Gavin Buskes Education Specialist (Electrical and Electronic) 8344 4685 buskesgj@unimelb.edu.au  
Dr Antonette Mendoza Education Specialist (Computer Information Systems) 8344 1411 mendozaa@unimelb.edu.au  
Dr Graham Moore Education Specialist (Infrastructure) 8344 6808 grahamam@unimelb.edu.au  
Mr Cliff Ogleby Education Specialist (Infrastructure) 8344 6754 clogleby@unimelb.edu.au  
Dr Kaya Prpic Academic Development Advisor 8344 3391 kaya.prpic@unimelb.edu.au  
Mr Brice Shen Program Manager 8344 8593 bshen@unimelb.edu.au  
Dr Linda Stern Education Specialist (Computer Information Systems) 8344 1362 stern@unimelb.edu.au  
Dr Sue Wright Academic Development Advisor (Architecture, Building and Planning) 9035 3809 smwright@unimelb.edu.au  

Visit the Engineering Learning Unit website

Facilities and OH&S

Person Position Phone Email Location
Michelle Mackay Manager, Facilities & OH&S 8344 3443 mrmackay@unimelb.edu.au Bldg 168, Rm 418
Steve Adams Senior Laboratory Technical Officer (Wet Labs) 8344 6227 scadams@unimelb.edu.au Bldg 176, Rm 159
Oktay Balkis Senior Fabrication Technical Officer 8344 4515 oktay@unimelb.edu.au Bldg 169, Workshop
Steve Beard Infrastructure & OHS Manager 8344 6712 sbeard@unimelb.edu.au Bldg 168, Rm 418
Dr David Chan Laboratory Manager (Design Studio) 8344 3361 kaic@unimelb.edu.au Bldg 176, Rm 159
Shane Clee Lab Tech Officer (Wet Lab-Eng Precinct) 8344 6665 sclee@unimelb.edu.au Bldg 176, Rm 159
Geoff Duke Research Laboratory Technical Officer 8344 3041 gduke@unimelb.edu.au Bldg 176, Rm 152
Joe Eden Laboratory Technical Officer (Design Studio) 9035 8076 edenj@unimelb.edu.au Bldg 173, Rm G50
George Fox Laboratory Technical Officer (Field Equipment) 8344 7176 geo.fox@unimelb.edu.au Bldg 176, Rm G11
Justin Fox Technical Officer (Fabrication Facility) 8344 6745 justinpf@unimelb.edu.au Bldg 169, Workshop
Becca McQuillan Laboratory Technical Officer (Coursework Wet Labs) 9035 7843 rebecca.mcquillan@unimelb.edu.au Bldg 176, Rm 159
Michael Jing Laboratory Technical Officer (Design/Build Studio) 9035 8076 michaelj@unimelb.edu.au Bldg 173, Rm 206
Deanna Strangis OHS Coordinator 9035 3487 deanna.strangis@unimelb.edu.au Bldg 168, Rm 418
Kevin Smeaton Fabrication Facility Manager 8344 6634 kevinjs@unimelb.edu.au Bldg 169, Workshop
Darcy Johnson Facilities & OHS Officer (Mon-Thur) 8344 2400 darcy.johnson@unimelb.edu.au Bldg 168, Rm 418
Rachel Xu Facilities & OHS Officer (Tue-Fri) 8344 2400 xinke.xu@unimelb.edu.au Bldg 168, Rm 418
David Watson Senior Laboratory Technical Officer (Design Studio) 9035 8076 dwatson@unimelb.edu.au Bldg 173, Rm 206

Finance

Person Position Phone Email Location
Sarah MacPherson Manager, Finance and Planning 8344 6791 sarahlm@unimelb.edu.au Old Eng G07
Kumar Dave Senior Management Accountant 8344 7080 kdave@unimelb.edu.au Old Eng G26
Quynh Bui Management Accountant 8344 6677 qbui@unimelb.edu.au Old Eng G26
Sheetal Kapoor Senior Management Accountant 8344 6633 kapoors@unimelb.edu.au Old Eng G22
Meg Belmonte Management Accountant 8344 6790 marymeg@unimelb.edu.au Old Eng G22
Irene Hou Management Accountant 8344 6628 ihou@unimelb.edu.au Old Eng G26
Marissa Canizares Management Accountant 9035 5085 mnca@unimelb.edu.au Old Eng G26
Dana Peng Assistant Accountant 9035 9902 dan.peng@unimelb.edu.au Old Eng G26
Limto Limto Manager, Business Analysis 8344 3916 llimto@unimelb.edu.au Old Eng G09
Sunil Sharma Project Analyst 8344 3650 s.sharma@unimelb.edu.au Old Eng G02
Rosemarie Broadhurst Assistant Accountant 9035 4694 r.broadhurst@unimelb.edu.au Old Eng G26

Human Resources

Person Position Phone Email Location
Aaron Plant Manager, Human Resources   aaron.plant@unimelb.edu.au Old Eng G04
Anshu Tara HR Business Partner 9035 4723 atara@unimelb.edu.au Old Eng G03
Carolyn Hannaford HR Advisor 9035 3072 carolyn.hannaford@unimelb.edu.au Old Eng G03
Tenille Harris HR Administrator 8344 5634 mse-hr@unimelb.edu.au
tenille.harris@unimelb.edu.au
 
Kirstin Miles HR Business Partner 8344 2148 kirstin.miles@unimelb.edu.au Old Eng G03
Madhavi Ramful HR Administrator 8344 7583 mse-hr@unimelb.edu.au
m.ramful@unimelb.edu.au
 
Bill Scarff Adminstrative Resources Assistant   wgs@unimelb.edu.au Old Eng G03

IT Services

Person Position Phone Email Location
Graham Sadler Manager, Information Technology 8344 0750 gsadler@unimelb.edu.au Bldg 168, 418
Richard Todd IT Systems & Infrastructure Manager 8344 4307 r.todd@unimelb.edu.au Bldg 168, 418
George Fedorov Senior Systems Specialist 9035 6016 gfedorov@unimelb.edu.au Bldg 168, 418
Lucas Barbuto Senior Systems Specialist 8344 1270 lucasjb@unimelb.edu.au Bldg 168, 418
Ruzhang (Mason) Weng Senior Systems Specialist 8344 7571 mason.weng@unimelb.edu.au Bldg 168, 418
Nivin Mathew Systems Specialist 8344 9218 nmathew@unimelb.edu.au Bldg 168, 418
Sook Ye Teoh Systems Specialist 8344 7421 sook.teoh@unimelb.edu.au Bldg 168, 418
Negin Mansoury IT Operations Manager 8344 8792 neginm@unimelb.edu.au Bldg 168, 418
Ryan Colaco Senior IT Officer 8344 4554 rcolaco@unimelb.edu.au Bldg 168, 418
Thomas Weichert Senior IT Officer 8344 1473 weichert@unimelb.edu.au Bldg 168, 418
Vinita Murugiah Software Developer 8344 1272 vinita@unimelb.edu.au Bldg 168, 418
David Nguyen Software Developer 8344 1475 nguyen@unimelb.edu.au Bldg 168, 418

Marketing and Communications

Person Position Phone Email Location
Juliette Kringas Manager, Marketing and Communications 8344 3800 juliette.kringas@unimelb.edu.au Alice Hoy, Room 381
Tony Zara Online Communications Manager 8344 3777 tonyz@unimelb.edu.au Alice Hoy, Room 381
Sam Davison (on leave till Nov 2016) Marketing and Events Coordinator 8344 7597 sdavison@unimelb.edu.au Alice Hoy, Room 381
Jenny Thomas Marketing and Communications Coordinator 8344 4092 jennifer.thomas@unimelb.edu.au Alice Hoy, Room 381
Nicole Jones Web Support Officer (Tues, Thurs) 9035 9703 nejones@unimelb.edu.au Alice Hoy, Room 381
Theoni Sklavos Marketing and Events Officer 9035 4085 tsklavos@unimelb.edu.au Alice Hoy, Room 381
Greta Harrison Marketing and Communications Officer 9035 3252 gretah@unimelb.edu.au Alice Hoy, Room 381

Research Services

Person Position Phone Email Location
Joanne Kuluveovski Manager, Research Industry 8344 5171 jkulu@unimelb.edu.au Old Eng G23
Jill StJohn Research Development Manager 8344 7948 jill.stjohn@unimelb.edu.au Old Eng Rm G20
Ash Ravikumar Commercialisation Services Manager (Research) 8344 1292 ashwin.ravikumar@unimelb.edu.au Old Eng G22
Lyle Daymond Senior Research Services Officer 8344 7697 l.daymond@unimelb.edu.au Old Eng G26
Melanie Villinger Research Services Officer 9035 6694 wimm@unimelb.edu.au Old Eng G26
Melissa Glenister Research Services Officer 9035 9618 melissa.glenister@unimelb.edu.au Old Eng G26
Jessica Finlay Research Services Officer 8344 5962 jessica.finlay@unimelb.edu.au Old Eng G26
Kathryn Lindsay University Librarian 9035 9659 kathryn.lindsay@unimelb.edu.au Old Eng G05